Connie Gee Designs · Cross Stitch · Ingleside Imaginarium · SALs · Smalls

March Smalls or Not April Fools!

2017smallssal-2Because this was supposed to be posted yesterday and I completely forgot. Uh… whoops. But it’s here and this is not related to April. Yes, I do feel like a “Not April Fools” disclaimer is appropriate.

Yeah… it’s been a long day.

Let’s get to talking about Smalls! The Smalls SAL is run by Heather over at Stitching Lotus! The challenge is to work on something small every month and we get to determine what small is. Make sure to check out everyone else’s amazing work!! Onto the monthly dragon!

This is Aquamarine from Birthstone Birthstone Dragons MarchDragons. When I first saw him on the list, I actually thought it was going to be a “she”. Then it turned out to be a protective little boy sea dragon. He’s very worried about Amethyst in the next block stealing his pretty little find. He probably found that in a sunken galleon or something.

loved this dragon. I love the color DMC 995. I think that may be my favorite color. That backstitching though, there was more of it than I thought. Anyway, I cannot say enough good things about this pattern. I got Diamond yesterday (that may have had something to do with forgetting about this update) and I love her as well. There is not a dragon I am displeased with! So much fun! I worked on him for about five days, and two of those were backstitching.

April’s Diamond is in progress and looking forward to Emerald! Just can’t wait!

Rainbow SAL MarchAnd my other update is for Rainbow. The yellow is 744 and it really isn’t showing up well on camera but it looks really good in person! Maybe if I invested in a more expensive camera it would help. Maybe not.

I actually did this motif before working on Aquamarine, but it only took two days. I actually was glad to find it up on the Wednesday I was working at a different store and I was pleasantly surprised with a short day while I was there. I was able to get a lot done. But I decided to work on this before aquamarine because I hadn’t bobbined all of Aqua’s colors at the time and I didn’t feeling like hand-winding the threads while I was at work. I bobbin from around my wrist and it can get to be an absolute mess.

Again, I was not a fan of the motif when I first saw it on paper, but I loved it as I stitched it! I was thinking this would be a pattern for the project, but April’s piece is lovely! I’m really looking forward to getting to that next weekend.

And that’s all from the Smalls. Until next time!

Stay sane and don’t die!
❤ Madison

Leave a comment