Cross Stitch · NFSAL · The DaVinci Collie · WIPocalypse

WIPocalypse July or Striding Forward

WIPocalypseSo I’m a few days late in the lunar cycle. Quite a few things have happened this month, all of it good. Though, at 8am on a Wednesday, my wit has apparently vanished. Maybe some hot tea will fix that.

Anyway, let’s jump right in.

WIPocalypse is hosted by Melissa of Measi’s Musings. She challenges us to stitch as much as we can before the end of the world… or year in this case.  I don’t actually think there is a Doomsday this year unless you are in the US. Then it’s November 14th.

This last month I have been focusing very hard on StoryKeep The DaVinci Collie. Last check-in saw me here.
SK-TDVC-WIP-5

I had failed the HAED Facebook challenge. But I had also learned a lot. I worked pretty hard at filling in the gaps and continuing towards victory. As of last Sunday I am here:

TDVC-WIP-9
Progress as of July 17, 2016

I am trying parking as I am “spiritually” participating in the next challenge although this piece was 197 stitches short of the minimum. Curse you, Perry the Platypus. As of today, though, I am about a 150 stitches further and the baby collie has a nose. I actually think there is half a chance at this being ready before the Stitching Pirates Whacky Witches SAL.

Speaking of Stitching Pirates, I worked a bit more on the Neglected Floss SAL this month:

NFSAL-Sampler-Mar-May

I added April:

NFSAL-April

And May:

NFSAL-May

I really, really, really LOVED how May turned out. You can read about my exploits with these two patterns in my earlier post. I greatly enjoyed them and will probably stitch May again.

I also kitted up Whacky Witches and got fabric for The Snowflower Diaries Joyful World SAL. I know it’s already almost August, but I always enjoy a good series. Over all it’s been a great July and I’m looking forward to August and hopefully more productive months.

And now for the monthly question. There were actually two this month, one for the Olympic Stitching Challenge and a general one. I don’t quite understand the Olympic Stitching Challenge, but since I won’t be watching the Olympics because it’s an election year and I don’t watch TV during election years (advertising) I shall answer the regular one:

Topic for next time: (two options) If you are participating in the Olympic Challenge, tell us about your plans – which type of challenge you’ve selected, the pieces you’ll be stitching on, etc.  If you are not participating in the challenge, tell us how this year’s stitching is going for you so far, and if you’re meeting your stitching goals so far for the year.

I feel as if I am doing really well. I’ve added quite a few new projects: The DaVinci Collie (my first gift) being my major one. I have a number of WIPs and was hoping to have Tale as Old as Time halfway finished and maybe Aurora into the backstitching. But first I have to finish The DaVinci Collie. It’s been a really productive year and I haven’t actually had more than about a week hiatus from stitching. Last year at this time, I was getting ready to embark on Belle, but I did take long breaks. It’s really nice to see something you work on week by week get slowly longer and better.

Looking forward to the second half of the year!

Until next time!

Stay sane and don’t die!
❤ Madison

 

3 thoughts on “WIPocalypse July or Striding Forward

Leave a Reply

